Augmentatative and alternative communication (AAC) [Upcoming Sun Jul 2, 2017]

Date: Sun Jul 2, 2017 Time: 8pm UTC / 9pm BST / 4pm EDT Questions tweeted by: @autchatmod and @theoriesofminds View a transcript of a past chat on this topic here. Q1: Do you currently use augmentative or alternative communication? Full-time? Part-time? What type of system? #autchat Q2: What barriers do you face in using […]

Parenting as an autistic or similarly neurodivergent parent (Upcoming Sun Jun 25, 2017)

Date: Sun Jun 25, 2017 Time: 8pm UTC / 9pm BST / 4pm EDT Questions tweeted by: @autchatmod and @theoriesofminds View transcripts of previous chats on this topic here: Mar 15, 2016 and Aug 2, 2016. Questions: Q1: Did your diagnosis (self or professional) come before or after you became a parent? #autchat Q2: If […]

Service dogs and emotional support animals (Upcoming Sun Jun 18, 2017)

Date: Sun Jun 18, 2017 Time: 8pm UTC / 9pm BST / 4pm EDT Questions tweeted by: @autchatmod and @theoriesofminds View transcripts of previous chats on this topic here: Jul 21, 2015, Aug 16, 2015, and Jun 28, 2017. Q1: Have you ever had an animal (such as a past pet) improve your functioning due […]

Finances

View a transcript of this chat here. Q1: Does your neurodivergence affect how you earn/acquire money? In what ways? #autchat Q2: Do you spend any money on neurodiversity-related expenses (occupational therapy, sensory aids, etc)? #autchat Q3: Does your neurodivergence (for example executive dysfunction, legal guardianship, etc) affect how you manage money? #autchat Q4: If needed, […]

Experience of empathy

You can view a transcript of this chat here. Some autistic/similar people say they have higher empathy then neurotypical people, some lower, some say no difference. #autchat Today we’ll talk about all types of empathy experiences. #autchat Q1: What is the experience of empathy like for you? Feelings, thoughts, sensations? #autchat Q2: Are there situations […]